Gallery| Education| Residencies| MTSA| Studios| Events| News| Contact

Shortlisted Artists

Mark Tanner Sculpture Award 2023-24

Standpoint is delighted to announce this year’s Mark Tanner Sculpture Award shortlisted artists.

Eight artists are shortlisted for the £10,000 award, which offers the winner financial support towards the production of new work, a solo exhibition at Standpoint plus a National Touring Programme.

The eight shortlisted artists are Hermione Allsopp (East Sussex), Claye Bowler (Derby), Rosie Gibbens (London), Steph Huang (London), Rosie McGinn (London), Laura Ní Fhlaibhín (London), Abigail Norris (East Sussex) and Laura Yuile (Manchester).

The shortlisted artists were selected from close to 300 entries by a judging panel comprising: Francis Upritchard; Claire Feeley, Head of Exhibitions, Jupiter Artland; Rebecca Scott, Director, Cross Lane Projects and Mark Tanner Trust; and Lee Holden, MTSA winner 2022/23.

The winner will be announced at the exhibition opening for the current recipient, Lee Holden, at Standpoint on Thursday 18 May 2023.

Images clockwise: Rosie McGinn, The Boléro, 2019, Installation view at Ltd Los Angeles, 2020; Hermione Allsopp, Sofulation, 2021; Abigail Norris, The Lytylle Plant Beist Doth Roren 2023; Steph Huang, Escape from Where We Are, 2021, Installation view at Cromwell Place, London; Claye Bowler, Top, 2022, Installation view at Henry Moore Institute, Leeds. Photo: Bob Harris; Laura Yuile, Heavy View, TACO!, 2019; Rosie Gibbens, Super Dimensional Love Gun, 2020; Laura Ní Fhlaibhín, Installation view at TULCA 2021, ‘There’s nothing here but flesh and bone, there’s nothing more’. Photo: Ros Kavanagh.